This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

TESOL Award Recipients Top Banner

The James E. Alatis Award for Service to TESOL

Who's Eligible?

Any TESOL member. Former TESOL staff and board members may not be nominated until three (3) years after completion of their term of service.


To acknowledge outstanding and extended service by TESOL members at international, regional, and local levels. This award was established in 1987 to honor James E. Alatis for his 21 years of devoted service as TESOL's first executive director.


A commemorative plaque is presented to the recipient at the TESOL convention, and the recipient's name is placed on a permanent plaque in TESOL staff office. One award is presented each year.


The recipient is selected according to evidence of
  • a genuine and long-lasting vision of what TESOL is and can be
  • the ability to combine professional and administrative roles in TESOL organizations
  • the ability and desire to represent and promote TESOL
  • efficiency, personal dynamism, and good cheer

To Nominate a Colleague Online

An individual TESOL member, a TESOL affiliate, interest section, or other TESOL group may nominate a TESOL member for this award. To complete the online nomination process, you will need the following information. You are strongly encouraged to gather this information before you begin the application. That way, you can fill out the nomination completely, and you will not have to go back and fill in items later.

Candidate's Information

  • full name
  • institution (place of work)
  • place of residence (city, state, country)
  • email address
  • phone number

Letter of Nomination

The letter of nomination should
  • describe the candidate specifically in terms of the aforementioned attributes and providing examples of the nominee's strengths in these areas
  • list chronologically the nominee's service to TESOL organizations

Letter of Support

If the nominator is a group, a letter of support is not required. If the nominator is an individual, he or she must solicit a letter of support from another TESOL member who can comment on the nominee's strengths in terms of the criteria listed above.

How to Apply

Send your nomination by email to TESOL Awards no later than 15 September.

2022 Recipient: Andy Curtis



Andy Curtis is a professor at Anaheim University. From 2015 to 2016, he served as the 50th President of TESOL International Association. He has (co)authored and (co)edited 200 publications, presented to 50,000 language educators in 100 countries, and his work has been read by 100,000 language educators in 150 countries. He is based in Ontario, Canada.

Past Award Recipients

View a list of past recipients.


Please contact TESOL Awards, Honors, & Grants.