This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.


The TESOL Professional Development Scholarships

Who's Eligible?

TESOL members in good standing.


To help TESOL members attend the annual TESOL convention. Recipients may also choose to attend a pre- or postconvention institute (PCI) in addition to the convention.

The TESOL Professional Development Scholarships were established in 1995 to provide the TESOL membership with ongoing professional development and to make the TESOL convention more enriching, fulfilling, and accessible to all members. Up to 50 scholarship can be awarded each year.


Up to 50 scholarships for the waiver of (a) convention registration only or (b) convention registration and the fee for one Pre or Post Convention Institute (PCI).

Note: Scholarship recipients are expected to volunteer at the convention for a minimum of two hours; the names of recipients will be forwarded to the annual convention volunteer coordinator.

To Apply

To complete the application process, you will need to submit a statement of 500 words or fewer addressing the following topics:
  • How attendance at the TESOL convention will further your professional development
  • How attending the conference will benefit your ESL/EFL community
  • Why you need this scholarship, including evidence of financial need
Download the evaluation rubric

Application Deadline

Open for applications soon. 

Apply Now

2022 Recipients

Aanchal Arya, India

Christine Klatecki, USA

Hana Lasladj, Algeria

Quennie Aquino, Kazakhastan

Sharon Churchill, Canada


Please contact TESOL Awards.