This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

Board Members Top Banner

Board of Directors

TESOL is governed by an elected board of directors. The TESOL executive director serves as an ex-officio member of the board. All TESOL members in good standing are eligible to vote in the annual board of director's election.

The board meets twice a year, in March and October, to review progress on the association's strategic plan, discuss the budget, and conduct other association business.

If you would like to serve on the TESOL Board of Directors, please visit the Serve as an Elected Leader webpage or contact the TESOL staff office.

 2020–2021 Officers/Executive Committee
Deborah Short
Deborah Short 
Academic Language Research & Training, LLC
Arlington, Virginia USA
Term: 2019–2022
Gabriela Kleckova
University of West Bohemia
Plzen, Czech Republic
Term: 2020–2023

Deborah Healey
Deborah Healey

Past President
University of Oregon
Portland, Oregon USA
Term: 2018–2021

Rosa Aronson
Rosa Aronson
Interim Executive Director 
TESOL Staff Office
Alexandria, Virginia USA

2020–2021 Directors

 Christel Broady
Christel Broady
Georgetown College
Georgetown, Kentucky USA
Term: 2018–2021

Ayanna Cooper
A. Cooper Consulting           
Dallas, Georgia USA
Term: 2020–2023

Okon Effiong
Okon Effiong
Qatar University
Doha Qatar
Term: 2020–2023

Katherine Lobo
Brandeis University
Newton Public Schools
Newton, Massachusetts USA
Term: 2018–2021

Joe McVeigh
St. Michael's College
Colchester, Vermont USA
Term: 2018–2021

Grazzia Mendoza Chirinos

USAID Honduras
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Term: 2019–2022

Justin Shewell
Arizona State University
Mesa, Arizona USA
Term: 2019–2022

Debra Suarez
U.S. Federal Government
Washington, District of Columbia USA
Term: 2019–2022